S T A T E R E Q U I R E D R E G I S T R A T I O N
& I N F O R M A T I O N F O R
O T H E R S B D E C E R T I F I C A T I O N S
To be in compliance with Texas law, a Dental Assistant may not position or expose dental x-rays unless the Dental Assistant is REGISTERED with the State Board of Dental Examiners (SBDE). SBDE Registration: 512.463.6400.
Once you have successfully completed a Dental Assistant Course and Examination with an SBDE Approved Provider or have taken the JURISPRUDENCE ASSESSMENT, you must apply to the SBDE for Registration. Upon receiving the certification of Registration from SBDE you may use the RDA Credential. SBDE Licensure Verification.
Registered Dental Assistant is required to renew Registration annually
current Cardio-Pulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) Card
Six (6) hours of Continuing Education (CE)
Note: Dental Assistants who have other certifications must have up-to twelve (12) hours of CE annually. Having Nitrous Oxide Monitoring Certification is not included.
Annual Registration – Updated December 1, 2013
State Board of Dental Examiners (TSBDE)
Postcards Replace Previous Renewal Forms
Dental Assistants are required to renew their registration yearly before the expiration date. As of January 1, 2009, the TSBDE stopped mailing renewal forms. Instead, TSBDE will mail a reminder postcard approx. 60 days before the license or registration expiration date. This applies to all Dentists, Dental Hygienists, Dental Assistants and Dental Laboratory’s license and registration in Texas.
do you do when you receive your renewal postcard reminder?
Unlike the renewal form, which was mailed back to the states’ dental board with a check or money order, the new postcard should not be mailed back to the TSBDE to renew a license or registration. Instead, you are encouraged to renew On-line by visiting TSBDE’s website: http://www.tsbde.texas.gov/node/135.html
can you renew On-line?
license or registration can only be renewed On-line up to 45 days prior to the
expiration date and any time after the expiration date.
A canceled license or registration is non-renewable.
On-line payments can be made by credit card or electronic check.
Please note: Licenses that are under Continuing Education (CE)
audit cannot be renewed On-line and must be renewed by US Mail.
If you move or relocate, you must notify the
Prefer to renew by US Mail?
If you have any questions, please contact the Texas SBDE Licensing Renewal Staff. Dentists and Dental Hygienists should ask to speak to the License Renewal Assistant. Dental Assistants should ask to speak to the Dental Assistant Coordinator. Dental Laboratory personnel should ask to speak to the Licensing Administrator.
Radiology Certification - Required
Infection Control Certification – Required
Jurisprudence – Required
Current Cardio-Pulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) Card - Required
Nitrous Oxide Monitoring Certification
Pit & Fissure Sealant Certification
Coronal Polishing Certification
Dental Assistant Registration Procedures
List of Approved Dental Assistant Course Providers
Dental Assistant Course Provider Information
Continuing Education Requirements for Dental Assistants
Dental Assistant Laws and Rules
Rules to Govern
TDAA Registration – FAQ
Dental Assistants Association ©
PO Box 1323, Cypress, TX 77429 E-mail: TDAA2002@aol.com
All rights reserved. Copyright 2002-2017 ~ Texas Dental Assistants Association ©