Moving To Texas?

Dental Assisting requirements, job titles and allowable functions vary from state to state because there is no national standardization.  Different requirements exist for dental assistants in every state and many states do not accept another state credential.  Texas Dental Assistants Association (TDAA) is here to help you understand our states requirements for working as a dental assistant in Texas.

Registered Dental Assistant X-Ray Certification (RDA) 
To be in compliance with Texas Law, a Dental Assistant may not position or expose dental x-rays unless the Dental Assistant is REGISTERED with the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners (TSBDE).

PATHWAY #1 FOR RDA

To become registered or an RDA, you must complete a TSBDE dental assistant application. The application process involves several steps. 

Step 1 – Prior to completing the application, you must have:

  • Paid all application, examination, and licensing fees
  • Have graduated from an accredited high school or hold a certificate of high school equivalency, General Equivalency Diploma (GED).
  • Have successfully completed a current hands-on course in basic life support (BLS).
  • Have taken and passed a dental assistant registration course of instruction and an examination administered by an approved TSBDE provider. Link to approved courses
  • A  2 x 2 passport photo
  • Copy of driver’s license, naturalization papers, or passport.
  • National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) self-query report.  The report results must remain in the original sealed envelope and be included with your application and is only valid for 60 days. Link to NPDB.
  • Complete a course in human trafficking prevention approved by the executive commissioner of the Texas Health and Human Services Commission and include with your application.

Step 2 – Application

  • Complete TSBDE dental assistant application
  • Notarize the application and mail copies of everything to:
    Texas State Board of Dental Examiners | 333 Guadalupe Street, Tower 3 Suite 800 | Austin, Texas  78701

Step 3 – Fingerprint Session

This is done for the retrieval of criminal history record information. Once the completed application has been received by TSBDE, staff will email the instructions on scheduling a fingerprint session with IdentoGO.  Once the applicant has completed their fingerprint session, the applicant will need to email a copy of their fingerprint receipt to Licensinghelp@tsbde.texas.gov and include their full name and date of birth.

PATHWAY #2 FOR RDA

A current Certified Dental Assistant (CDA) from the Dental Assisting National Board has another option to obtain the Texas RDA credential. 

Step 1 – Prior to completing the application, you must have:

  • Complete the application and pay all licensing fees.
  • Have graduated from an accredited high school or hold a certificate of high school equivalency, General Equivalency Diploma (GED)
  • Have successfully completed a current hands-on course in basic life support (BLS)
  • Submit a copy of your current DANB CDA Card and complete the required TSBDE Jurisprudence Assessment.
  • A  2 x 2 passport photo
  • Copy of driver’s license, naturalization papers, or passport
  • National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) self-query report. The report results must remain in the original sealed envelope and be included with your application and is only valid for 60 days. Link to NPDB
  • Complete a course in human trafficking prevention approved by the executive commissioner of the Texas Health and Human Services Commission and include with your application.

Step 2 – Application

  • Complete TSBDE dental assistant application
  • Notarize the application and mail copies of everything to:
    Texas State Board of Dental Examiners | 333 Guadalupe Street, Tower 3 Suite 800 | Austin, Texas  78701

Step 3 – Fingerprint Session

This is done for the retrieval of criminal history record information. Once the completed application has been received by TSBDE, staff will email the instructions on scheduling a fingerprint session with IdentoGO.  Once the applicant has completed their fingerprint session, the applicant will need to email a copy of their fingerprint receipt to Licensinghelp@tsbde.texas.gov and include their full name and date of birth.

Once you hold a TSBDE RDA Certificate and display your certificate where you work, you may begin position or expose dental x-rays. Your first registration may be valid between 18-30 months.  After you renew your registration, it will be valid for two (2) years on your birth month.

Note:  a licensee is required to notify the TSBDE of any change of address within 60 days.  This includes a work address or mailing Address.  Changes may be emailed to the Licensing division at licensinghelp@tsbde.texas.gov  Provide your full name, registration type, the last four (4) numbers of your Social Security Number, and your new mailing address.